The Presence of God 2

God wants to be involved and in charge of life’s responsibilities.

When Herman Cain took over as CEO of Godfather’s Pizza, the company was in the midst of a severe financial crisis.  Within one year, he brought the company into profitability.  When he was asked how he did it, he said, “The secret to my success is my faith in Christ and God almighty — and they are no secret!  I have to give God the glory in everything I do and in every success I’ve achieved.”

Whatever it is that we’re responsible for, God wants to be in charge.  God wants to choose your major.  God wants to decide on your career.  God wants to watch over your relationships.  God wants to be in charge of our responsibilities. 

Psalm 127:1 “Unless the Lord builds the house, its builders labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchmen stand guard in vain.”

Among other things this psalm teaches that whatever it is we are doing God wants to be involved.   It doesn’t have to be as grant as building a house or guarding a city.   If you’ve got classes to take, God wants to take them with you.  If you have a job to do, God wants to do it with you.  If you’ve got friends that you’re concerned about, God wants to guard them.  If you’re wondering what to do with your life, God wants to guide you.  If you’ve got a family that you don’t understand; God wants to be the Lord of your family relationships.  Get the idea?  God wants to be involved in your life. 

There’s nothing about our life that is unimportant to God. Sometimes we may wonder, “Is God really concerned whether or not I pass this class?  Is God really concerned whether or not I meet this deadline?  Is God really concerned me finding a job?”  The answer is, always, “Yes!” 

But it may not always feel that way because whatever it is we do, God not only wants to be involved; He wants to be in charge. 

God wants to be involved in our responsibilities — and not only involved; He wants to be in charge.  Whatever it is we have to do, God wants us to do it His way.  There’s a good reason for this: His way, though often not our way, is always the best way.

So, as we approach our responsibilities in life, we are to surrender them to God’s control.  We’re to say, “God, I’m giving You control of my career; build my future for Your glory…God, I’m giving You control of my relationships, I’m giving You control of my family; build my relationships, including my relationship to my family, for Your glory…God I’m giving You control of my future; build it for Your glory.”

 God wants to be in charge of our responsibilities, for one simple reason, because His way is the best way.  The more we nourish a relationship with God the easier putting God in charge of our responssibilities.

1 thought on “The Presence of God 2”

Leave a Reply

